Dogson or “Lewis Carroll and the real Alice”

Alice seems to be a theme I am stuck on lately 🙂 …….

 

He liked to dress me up

Put me in rags and called it “Beggar Maid” or gave me a crown called “Queen of May”

I thought it was a bit of fun and I loved when he told me stories

He even wrote them down for me! Now all the children read our story

He told me I was special and that was nice

Mama said he was a good friend but she was always in bed

She couldn’t see what kind of games we really played

 

He always said I was his favorite

I never really liked when he drew pictures of Edith

It made my cheeks fill with heat

 

When we were done taking photographs I curled up on his lap for a story

Some days we’d go out on the boat, how nice to feel the salt on my lips

Someday we will be married Alice, he would say to me all the time

You will wear a beautiful white dress and we will have children of our own

Will you tell them stories too? Yes, we will

When? When will we be married? Soon Alice.

Then that awful day when Ina listened in on us

She was so jealous, you know, she wanted you for herself

She was so spiteful to me

She ran and told Mummy

 

And that was the end of our play dates

You were so ashamed, I know

You tore every page of me out of your diary

You thought that would make it go away

Don’t you miss me?

I sit by the ocean and wait for you everyday in my beautiful white dress

© Hannah Munroe

 

One thought on “Dogson or “Lewis Carroll and the real Alice”

Leave a Reply

