I Was Always More of a Dragon than a Singing Dove

I never could flutter through life

My arrival left more of a quake

You with your milky skin were a symbol of peace

but I always inspired more of an unsettling feeling

I brought the warmth down to you but then I always went so overboard and fire burns

I just wanted to be a protector, I didn’t mean for those to fall who crossed my territory

You and your calm stream me and my boiling ocean

You hum a tune that puts the world to sleep

But I was rocking and rolling I woke the neighbors

You left no trace of yourself and I left a trail of rubble behind

I was a lover too I just wasn’t as graceful about it

© Hannah Munroe

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

